Junior Secondary School Boys | 2023 Tournament

The Junior Secondary Boys' Tournament took place between the 29th - 31st March, 2023 in Palmerston North. Congratulations to the following teams who competed at the Tournament:

Auckland Grammar School (Auckland), Tauranga Boys' College (Northern Districts), Napier Boys' High School (Central Districts), Wellington Boys' College (Wellington), St Andrew's College (Canterbury), John McGlashan College (Otago).


Congratulations to Auckland Grammar School, who went unbeaten through five matches to win the 2023 Junior Secondary Boys' Tournament.

Runners Up

Congratulations to Wellington College, who won three from five matches to finish as 'runners up' at the 2023 Junior Secondary Boys' Tournament.

Tournament MVP

Congratulations to Spencer Hair (St Andrew's)who won Tournament MVP on the back of his 229 runs @ 57.25 (including two half-centuries and high score of 88*) and seven catches as wicketkeeper.

Spirit of Cricket Award

Congratulations to John McGlashan Collegewho were voted by tournament officials as the team who best upheld the Spirit of Cricket at the 2023 Junior Secondary Boys' Tournament.

Team MVP's

Congratulations to the following players, who were voted as Most Valuable Player for their team:

  • Aarian Sharma (Auckland Grammar) - 11 wickets @ 6.0. BBI of 4-7.
  • Kody Irwin (Tauranga Boys’) – 6 wickets @ 16.33.
  • Luke McNally (Napier Boys’) – 153 runs @ 38.25. 5 wickets @ 14.2.
  • Shavam Mistry (Wellington College) – 87 runs @ 17.4. 1 catch, 1 run-out.
  • Tom Simpson (St Andrew’s College) – 7 wickets @ 9.14. 72 runs.
  • Fred Gordon (John McGlashan College) – 107 runs @ 26.75. 6 wickets @ 13.5.

Playing Conditions

See below for the playing conditions for the Junior Secondary School Boys' Competition and also NZC's complete playing conditions for the 2022/23 season

Junior Secondary Boys 2023 | Q&A Session

Watch our Q&A session as Junior Secondary Boys' attendees detail their favourite thing about cricket, their favourite teammate, and much more!