Aotearoa Māori Invitational XI to take on Rotorua Boys'
By NZC Wednesday 28 February 2024, 02:45 pm

NZC have announced an Aotearoa Māori Invitational XI to compete against Rotorua Boys’ Invitational XI this Friday (1st March) in Rotorua.

The one-off Twenty20 match represents an attempt to re-energise cricket at the secondary school, while continuing to showcase and raise the profile of Māori Cricket.

The Aotearoa Māori Invitational XI led by captain Dusan Hakaraia (Tāmaki Makaurau Māori) will feature a number of recent Maori Secondary Schoolboys graduates.

Schoolboys captain Jerome Robinson, fast bowler Harry Sixton, and left-arm spinner Ryan Smardon all impressed at the recent Rangatahi Cricket Festival and will offer a youthful punch to the side.

Recent Auckland representative, Angus Olliver, will bolster an already strong Aotearoa Māori Invitational bowling attack.

The Rotorua Invitational squad is also littered with talent, including age-group representatives such as wicketkeeper-bat Kade Smit and all-rounder Tom Yetsenga.

The quartet of Gray brothers from Poverty Bay will provide a strong backbone for the Rotorua squad.

Rotorua Boys’ Director of Cricket, Jake Rowe, will also don his school’s colours alongside a handful of current RBHS 1st XI players.



  • 11:30am, Friday 1st March
  • Rotorua Boys High School
  • Live scored through PlayHQ.


Aotearoa Māori Invitational XI

Rotorua Boys’ Invitational XI


1.      Dusan Hakaraian (captain) - Ngā Puhi

2.      Flynn Goodley – Hollister - Ngāti Kahungunu

3.      Mitchell Murray - Tainui

4.      Seb Heath - Ngāi Te Rangi

5.      Mikaere Leef - Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāi Te Rangi, Ngāti Pūkenga, Ngā Puhi

6.      Cohen Stewart - Te Āti Awa Te Tau Ihu, Ngāti Kuia, Ngāi Tahu

7.      Jerome Robinson - Ngāti Raukawa

8.      Harry Sixton - Ngāti Kahu, Te Āti Awa

9.      Ryan Smardon - Ngāti Rāhiri Tumutumu

10.   Riley Parkinson - Ngā Puhi

11.   Angus Olliver - Te Āti Awa

12.   James Stratton - Ngāti Kahunungunu ki Wairarapa


1.      Lovely Sandhu

2.      Ben Holt

3.      Kade Smit (wk)

4.      Te Reimana Gray

5.      Johny Gray

6.      David Gray

7.      Marcus Gray

8.      Tom Yetsenga

9.      Jake Rowe

10.   Peter Austin

11.   Riley Kusabs

12.   Logan Hutchings