Junior Secondary Boys’ 2024 Preview
By NZC Thursday 07 March 2024, 01:45 pm

The Junior Secondary Boys’ national cricket tournament returns to Palmerston North later this month (18 – 22 March 2024), welcoming the top year 9 & 10 schoolboy talent across Aotearoa.

Teams will compete in five 40-over matches over five days at Fitzherbert and Manawaroa Parks.

2023 champions - Auckland Grammar - will be a team to watch, and will no doubt be eyeing up a fifth Junior Secondary Boys’ championship.

Christchurch Boys’ High School also have a strong history at the tournament, winning the tournament six times in school history.

Waitaki Boys’ High School from Oamaru are tournament newcomers, having never qualified out of Otago/Southland.

Wellington College are another returning team from the 2023 tournament and will be looking to go one better than their second-place finish last year.

A winner from Central Districts will be found after today’s regional final between Whanganui Collegiate School & Napier Boys’ High School.

Hamilton Boys’ High School student, Aditya Gulla, credited coach Lefson for helping his team qualify.

“A special thanks must go to Mr Eric Lefson for all his hard work and how invested he is with the junior cricketing programme at school,” said Gulla.

“The trainings, the high quality feedback, and the technical work he does with us are reasons for our success, and we cannot thank him enough.”

Christchurch Boys’ captain, James Irwin, shared his excitement around the upcoming tournament.

“I am really looking forward to spending a week away with my team and developing our cricket,” said Irwin.

“I am very excited about the opportunity to test ourselves against the best schools in the country.”

Wellington College’s Leo Bridgman looked forward to the camaraderie alongside his peers.

“We are really excited about the opportunity to meet and play against players from all around the country,” said Bridgman.

“We’ve always enjoyed travelling to the Hawkes Bay Cricket Camps to play against and make friends with others who love cricket,”

“We’re sure this tournament will be no different.”

All matches will be live scored on PlayHQ, as well as

Follow NZC’s Community Facebook page for regular tournament updates.

Qualified Schools:

Auckland Grammar (Auckland), Hamilton Boys’ HS (ND), Whanganui Collegiate School (CD), Wellington College (WLG), Christchurch Boys’ HS (CAN), Waitaki Boys’ HS (OTG).


Junior Secondary Boys’ Standings (2023):

  1. Auckland Grammar School
  2. Wellington College
  3. Napier Boys' HS
  4. St Andrew’s College
  5. John McGlashan College
  6. Tauranga Boys' College

Latest news

View More

Wellington College – Junior Secondary Boys’ Champions 2024

Wellington College have emerged victorious at the 2024 Junior Secondary Boys' national tournament.
Read More

St Matthew’s and Takapuna impress at Venus Cup opening day

St Matthew’s Collegiate and Takapuna Grammar School both returned strong performances at day one of the 2023 Venus Cup, claiming two wins from two Twenty20 matches.
Read More

Venus Cup 2023 Preview

The 29th edition of NZC’s Venus Cup begins in Lincoln, Christchurch next Monday 11th December, bringing together the top female secondary school cricket sides from across the nation.
Read More

New Zealand qualify for ICC U19 World Cup in Sri Lanka

New Zealand have successfully booked their ticket to the 2024 ICC U19 Men's Cricket World Cup to be held in Sri Lanka.
Read More

Junior Secondary Boys’ – Day Four Match Reports

The penultimate round of Junior Secondary Boys’ saw some fantastic action on a blustery Palmerston North day.
Read More
View More