Diversity & Inclusion
Māori and Pasifika Schools name squads for inaugural matches
By NZC Friday 13 January 2023, 12:00 pm
Lachlan Bailey (Māori Schools) & Gisele Naidu (Pasifika Schools)
Lachlan Bailey (Māori Schools) & Gisele Naidu (Pasifika Schools) - PhotosportNZ


Pasifika Schools and Māori Schools have named their squads to compete for their inaugural match-up in Auckland this month.

The teams will play three T20 matches over January 24 and 25 in what is designed to be celebration of culture and cricket.

Pasifika Schools Manager, Garry Wood, said the squads, comprised of Auckland-based players of Pasifika descent, contained talented players who are beginning to make their mark in Auckland Cricket age-group teams.

 “Our players are motivated to do well and are ready to showcase Pasifika cricket to the wider community.

“They have been busy playing within Auckland representative sides, and I’m sure they will be up for the challenge.” said Wood.

The inaugural Pasifika teams boast impressive sporting pedigree throughout.

Solomon Nash, a batting all-rounder from St Paul’s College (Auckland) has not got to look far for sporting inspiration.

Solomon’s father, Dion Nash, played over 100 matches for the BLACKCAPS as a lively fast bowler.

His mother, Bernice Mene, represented the Silver Ferns for 10 years, playing 78 tests and was appointed a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit, for services to netball.

Oscar Su'a, son of Samoan-born Test Cricketer, Murphy Su'a, will also take the field for Pasifika Schools.

The schoolgirls side is highlighted by Francesca-Eti Tonu'u (Mount Albert Grammar), a talented young wicketkeeper and a handy lower order bat.

Francesca-Eti is the daughter of the multi-talented Ofisa Tonu’u - a former All Blacks player and member of the Samoan men’s national cricket team.

The Māori Schools have also named strong squads, with Major Association age-group representatives scattered throughout.

Wellington U19 representative, Lachie Bailey, will represent Māori Schoolboys for a third time, and will be a key player with both bat and ball.

Auckland U19 all-rounder, Josh Olliver, impressed for Auckland Māori earlier in the year, and is another player with a bright future.

Kiri and Dayle Anderson, Ella Gibson, Anika Todd, and Jess Smith all return for the Māori Schoolgirls, and will be important players with both bat and ball.

Another returning player, Estella Wallace, was impressive with the bat for Christchurch Girls’ at the recent Gillette Venus Cup - another young player with plenty of talent.

NZC welcome whānau and friends to the “Whānau Fun Day” - Tuesday 24th January (11:30am), where fun games, giveaways, free ice blocks and a sausage sizzle will be available.

All matches will be live scored on nzc.nz as well as PlayHQ.

Find full squads & a draw, below.




1.      Kaden Cossill

Niuean / Māori / Pakeha

2.      Nelio Mateo

Cook Islands

3.      Joshua McNaughton


4.      Nathan McNaughton


5.      Noah Mead

Samoan/Cook Island

6.      Solomon Nash


7.      Mataora Loti Rapana

Cook Islands

8.      Luka Rakuraku

Cook Islands

9.      Oscar Su'a


10.  Austin Sood


11.  Enoka Sului


12.  Justus Telea


13.  Shawn Vaetoru

Cook Islands

14.  MJ Williams

Cook Islands

1.      Luella Bracey


2.      Suapeli Fakatava


3.      Heitonga Fakatava


4.      Zamera Ikiua

Cook Islands/Tongan

5.      Kamayani Jolly


6.      Gisele Naidu


7.      Sophia Samuels

Cook Islands/Māori

8.      Ane Tetawa

Cook Islands

9.      Angeti Tetawa

Cook Islands

10.  Francesca-Eti Tonu'u


11.  Sonnia Vaia

Tongan/Cook Islands

12.  Esther Williams

Cook Islands

13.  Neena Woollaston



Coach: Saumani Tiai

Manager: Garry Wood

Coach: Carol Agafili

Manager: Garry Wood




1.      Lachie Bailey

Ngāti Kuia

2.      Kaiarahi Brunning

Ngāti Raukawa ki te Tonga

3.      Toby Clemett

Ngāti Raukawa

4.      Haydon Danford


5.      Fraser Farrell


6.      Oram Gutsell

Ngāi Tahu, Ngāpuhi

7.      Reece Holmes


8.      Marco Muollo

Ngāi Tahu

9.      Joshua Olliver

Te Āti Awa

10.  Samuel Payne

Ngāti Kahungunu ki Wairarapa

11.  Jerome Robinson

Ngāti Raukawa

12.  Rory Sloan

Ngāti Maniapoto

1.      Dayle Anderson


2.      Kiri Anderson


3.      Elle Archer

Tainui Ngāti Māhanga

4.      Kate Craig

Ngāti Pikiao

5.      Mollie Drumm

Ngāti Porou

6.      Ella Gibson

Tūhoe, Te Aitanga-a-Mahaki, Ngāti Porou

7.      Kaitlyn Halliday


8.      Holly Lightbourne

Te Aupōuri, Te Rarawa

9.      Macy Lyford*

Ngāti Kahungunu

10.  Jess Smith

Ngāpuhi, Tainui

11.  Anika Tauwhare

Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei, Ngāi Tahu

12.  Anika Todd

Ngāti Whātua o Kaipara

13.  Estella Wallace

Ngāi Tahu


*Unavailable due to injury.

Coach: Mike Tillett

Asst: Michael Rameka, Keith Vincent

Coach: Tanya Morrison

Asst: Kerry Tomlinson, Justine Dunce



T20 Matchday 1: January 24th, Shore Rd Reserve (Parnell CC)

Pasifika Secondary Schoolgirls v NZ Māori Schoolgirls

Shore Rd Domain, 10:30am

Pasifika Secondary Schoolboys v NZ Māori Schoolboys

Shore Rd Domain, 2:30pm

T20 Matchday 2: January 25th, Shore Rd Reserve (Parnell CC) & Ōrākei Domain

Pasifika Secondary Schoolgirls v NZ Māori Schoolgirls

Ōrākei Domain, 10:30am

Pasifika Secondary Schoolgirls v NZ Māori Schoolgirls

Ōrākei Domain, 2:30pm

Pasifika Secondary Schoolboys v NZ Māori Schoolboys

Shore Rd Domain, 10:30am

Pasifika Secondary Schoolboys v NZ Māori Schoolboys

Shore Rd Domain, 2:30pm

Latest news

View More

Kia ora Māori National Tournament!

New Zealand’s finest Māori cricket players will assemble for the inaugural National Māori Men's Tournament in Whangārei this Easter
Read More

Cricket Wellington unveil Multi-Faith Prayer Room

In order to make the Cello Basin Reserve more accessible to those of religious faith, Cricket Wellington and Victoria University’s VicMuslims Club collaborated to unveil a Multi-Faith Prayer Room
Read More

Inaugural Pasifika Schools set for T20 festival

New Zealand Cricket’s Māori Secondary Schoolboys and Schoolgirls will face a new challenge in January 2023 – that of the newly formed Pasifika Schoolboy and Schoolgirl teams
Read More

Auckland Māori prevail in the Mount

Auckland Māori have claimed bragging rights against Northern Māori over Labour Weekend, in what were the inaugural fixtures between the two all-Māori sides.
Read More

Auckland and Northern Māori set for historic weekend

Auckland and Northern Māori clash this weekend in what is set to be a historic matchup for Māori Cricket in New Zealand.
Read More
View More