Women & Girls Umpiring & Scoring
2023-24 Aspiring Female Umpire intake announced
By NZC Thursday 03 August 2023, 09:00 am

New Zealand Cricket is excited to announce the 10 successful candidates in the 2023-24 intake of the Aspiring Female Umpire Programme (AFUP).

Of the applicants, six will be returning from last season, namely; Marise-Ann Fernandes (Auckland), Ingrid Sage (Wellington), Khymne Darcy (Canterbury), Alyson Shipley (Canterbury), Katie Hogue (Otago) and Gabrielle Sebaratnam (Otago).

Amruta Bhosale (Wellington) returns to the AFUP, having previously been involved during the 2021-22 season.

The programme will welcome three new members; Moth Sutherland-Tupp (Auckland), Leteisha Rose (Northern Districts) and Vibhuti Patel (Canterbury).

Into its third season, the AFUP will continue to build on the lessons of the previous two seasons, offering opportunities for Aspiring Umpires to connect, learn and grow their skills.

NZC Community Umpire Manager, Eugene Sanders, previewed what is upcoming for the Aspiring Umpire Programme.

“Year three of the programme has a couple of exciting additions, with a two-day residential in Lincoln, Christchurch, where Umpires will get the chance to learn from National Panel Umpires and industry leaders in various aspects of umpiring and the challenges that they may face,” Sanders said.

“Umpires will also be observed locally in their associations to allow the opportunity for feedback and to obtain data on where they currently sit skill-wise, and how we can help to improve.”

The AFUP will welcome the four programme mentors; Kim Cotton, Christelle High, Tina Semmens and Sue Morris, who will add valuable International and Domestic Umpiring experience to the programme.

Previous AFUP Umpire, Tina Semmens, will rejoin the programme as a mentor - having progressed to domestic appointments since taking part in the programme.


2023/2024 Aspiring Female Umpires:

  1. Amruta Bhosale* (Wellington)
  2. Khymne Darcy* (Canterbury)
  3. Marise-Ann Fernandes* (Auckland)
  4. Katie Hogue* (Otago)
  5. Vibhuti Patel (Canterbury)
  6. Leteisha Rose (Northern Districts)
  7. Ingrid Sage* (Wellington)
  8. Moth Sutherland-Tupp (Auckland)
  9. Alyson Shipley* (Canterbury)
  10. Gabrielle Sebaratnam* (Otago)

*Indicates returning


2023/2024 Aspiring Female Mentors:

  1. Kim Cotton (Canterbury)
  2. Christelle High (Northern Districts)
  3. Sue Morris (Auckland)
  4. Tina Semmens (Auckland)


For more information on the Aspiring Female Umpire Programme, click here.

Latest news

View More

Player Umpires supported through Community Umpire Programme

A new pilot led by Christchurch Metro & NZC has seen player umpires receive support in officiating their own matches.
Read More

Whanganui Collegiate cricket stalwart calls time

The Whanganui Collegiate School scorebook will not be the same following this season’s retirement of long-standing scorer, Robert Wake.
Read More

Pulling up stumps

As the pages turned towards the end of the 2023/24 cricket season, it was also the final chapter on the field for one of New Zealand Cricket's most respected umpires
Read More

Celebrating NZC's Longest Serving Scorer

Otago scorer Helen Simpson will be the first to receive one of New Zealand Cricket’s newly minted badges to mark her long service to the game.
Read More

Inspired to Umpire – Vibhuti Patel’s Umpiring Journey

After moving to New Zealand, a chance encounter saw Vibhuti Patel try her hand at Umpiring.
Read More
View More